Autism: C'hele's Story

July 16, 2007

Resources For Those Living With Or Working With Children Of Autism Spectrum Disorders

Filed under: Autism — C'hele @ 14:01

Alas! I finally find the time to write. Yeah!! I have been pondering to myself lately how my blog has digressed from the trials, tribulations and joys of being an old maid to the world of autism spectrum disorders. To all my readers, I promise I shall try to remain faithful to both themes. However lately, the topic of autism demands my attention. For parents, foster parents, respite workers, teachers, aides and paraprofessionals I have made up a small resource list of information relating to autism spectrum disorders. Much of this I have known for a long while but had yet to find the time to impart this information. Soon I will provide a list of more resources, learning aides and materials that I learned about and acquired from my ABA course. All I can say, as a Paraprofessional who works in the field and a single parent with a child who has an autism spectrum disorder, I wish I had much of this information right away when I needed it the most. Many of you may not be able to afford the resources I have listed here within, but you could always inquire or order them at your local library! With all my heart, I am happy to provide this information for those who seek:

1. http://www.autismoutreach.ca – Look under e-learning modules in particular, but you need to register in first (the good news is, registering is free). This website is intended to educate both teachers and parents on the nature of autism in the whole spectrum. It covers high functioning autism (and Asperger’s) to low functioning non-verbal autistic individuals. I believe they do out of country mail orders for resources and educational materials (email them to find out for sure). A wonderful web-site for information.

2. http://www.polyxo.com/ – This web site has resources on social stories and visual supports. It also helps explain to parents what educators “do” when they teach autistic children. For example, what discrete trial training is, how we do data collection, and what a Functional Behavioural Analysis is. This will be incredibly helpful for parents learning the terminology in the autism teaching realm.

3. http://www.do2learn.com – For the primary/elementary school level. Covers the nature of cognitive, social and communication disorders. Autism definitely included here. This web-site offers advice, diagnosis of these various disorders, family advocacy, songs/games, how to use picture symbols and visual schedules, and more.

4. http://www.socialthinking.com – This website is intended to assist and support persons with social learning challenges (autism very much included in this realm). The web-site quotes: “Michelle and her team specialize in developing further understanding and educational strategies for helping persons with social thinking/social communicative challenges.” Many Teacher Assistants, Educational Assistants or Special Ed. Assistants and teachers are utilizing and incorporating Michelle Garcia Winner’s expertise and literature within the class rooms. A wonderful web-site!

5. http://www.tonyattwood.com.au – What can I say? This professional is my guru regarding the perplexing nature of Asperger’s Syndrome (high functioning autism). He is absolutely amazing regarding his knowledge on “Aspbie individuals.” I have read so much of his work that I cant praise him high enough. His books are incredibly easy to read and are digestible. One DVD that helped me so much to learn about the nature of Asperger’s Syndrome (and confirmed for me without a doubt that my daughter was indeed an Aspbie child) is: “Dr. Tony Attwood‘s, Asperger’s Syndrome, Volume 2. In this DVD, Dr. Attwood presents to the viewer as a down to earth individual who is also funnier than hell with his stories! He blew me away with his knowledge in this DVD. I borrowed the DVD from a friend of mine, loved it and eventually went out later and paid the $100.00 price-tag (cdn) for this DVD. I would have not hesitated to pay $200 for the information that lay within it. In the DVD, Dr. Attwood covers the characteristics of AS, Anger Management, Teaching Teachers about Asperger’s Syndrome and Teenager Issues.

6. http://www.templegrandin.com – Again, I highly recommend reading this woman’s work. I love reading about Temple’s incredible accomplishments as an author, lecturer and inventor who has autism and beat the odds against typical society and attained a Ph.d. A wonderful woman and human being!

7. http://www.thegraycenter.org/socialstories.cfm – Carol Gray is a professional who developed the SOCIAL STORY as a major tool for teachers and parents. Social stories teach children with autism spectrum disorders how to cope with many skills and concepts and socially acceptable behaviours. If your ASD child is oppositional to your instructions or directives, utilizing social stories is an indirect way to teach him or her, a necessary concept or skill. I used them with my daughter since she was three. The autism centre I work for, utilizes social stories for many of their high-school students. This tool helps them to understand and cope with what is, and is not, socially acceptable behaviours in school, home and in the community. Social Stories may cover concepts such as: How to give someone a hug, how to properly greet someone, how to ask a girl out on a date and so on. I love Carol Gray!

Books:

1. Asperger’s Syndrome, A Guide for Parents and Professionals by Tony Attwood

2. The Complete Guide to Asperger’s Syndrome, By Tony Atwood

3. Exploring Feelings, Cognitive Behaviour Therapy to Manage Anxiety, by Tony Atwood.

3. The Dragon’s of Autism, Autism as a Source of Wisdom, by Olga Holland

4. The World of the Autistic Child, Understanding and Treating Autism Spectrum Disorders by Bryna Siegel

5. Attainments, Life Skills Development Series. Learn About Life: Sexuality and Social Skills. www.AttainmentCompany.com

6. Think Social, by Michelle Garcia Winner7. Thinking About YOU, Thinking About ME, by Michelle Garcia Winner

8. Our Journey Through High Functioning Autism and Asperger Syndrome, A Roadmap. Edited by Linda Andron. A book covering stories by families living with autism spectrum disorders. At the end of the book is an amazing short-story/autobiography of a child named Max who lives life as an autistic individual. A great book.

9. Anything written by Carol Gray.

C’hele

xo

7 Comments »

  1. Thank you, thank you! I, for one, will check out everything on this list as soon as I possibly can. I can’t tell you how valuable this is for me and anyone else who needs it. C’hele, you are truly amazing. Bless your heart for taking this upon yourself to share what you know so openly. I feel less overwhelmed knowing that you are “nearby” and walking (albeit ahead of me, thankfully!) the same path as I am.

    Comment by Sherri — July 16, 2007 @ 15:02

  2. This is truly wonderful. I’m sure many people shall find help in this.

    Smile.

    Comment by Clownscape — July 16, 2007 @ 22:41

  3. I just saw a really good film about a woman with autism…although not being exposed to anyone with autism I have no idea if it was an authentic or accurate portrayal. It was called Snow Cake.

    Comment by mrachel — July 17, 2007 @ 03:49

  4. As always, you are a wealth of information, C’hele! Good for you!

    Comment by vroni1208 — July 17, 2007 @ 22:47

  5. After reading this article, I just feel that I really need more information on the topic. Can you suggest some more resources ?

    Comment by How to Get Six Pack Fast — April 15, 2009 @ 21:43

  6. Hey Six-Pack-

    Have you checked out any of the above literature I have recommended? I have forgotten to add that Dr. Temple Grandin is a wealth of information for anyone wishing to gain a clearer aspect of what it is to live in this world as an autistic individual. I just got home from work- I’ll be checking for more resources and list them here soon!

    Regards,
    C’hele

    Comment by C'hele — April 21, 2009 @ 03:42

  7. Whenever frustration soars, consider the
    outcomes.

    Comment by inflamatory bowel disease — February 22, 2013 @ 12:09


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

