Autism: C'hele's Story

February 21, 2008

Service With A Smile…

Filed under: Poetry — C'hele @ 07:45

Hello…

How may I serve you?

Please don’t look at me that way.

My face carries no disguises.

Don’t look at the no make up and

The brown, leathery and wrinkled skin.

Instead,

Look into my eyes

For they speak a thousand horror stories.

My face may look well worn,

But my smile is the only thing left

That I am able to give-

Please-

Just listen.

What I might say to you may not make any sense.

But when I look into your eyes,

All I care is,

Whether you give a damn or not.

I’d stay here all night to work

At the gas station if they asked me.

Gosh. I sure need a drink.

The best cocktail available?

Is receiving true Grace-

Served with silence and a genuine smile.

1 Comment »

  1. Ahhh, the eyes are truly the windows to the soul. The other day at work, an older man came to volunteer. His name is Roy and he is 93 years old! Roy welcomed me to my new job position with a genuine and beautiful smile. Then he pulled me close and hugged me. I have never met this man before, and yet he touched my heart deeply that day. We stood and talked for a bit, and as we talked he looked straight into my eyes. His eyes were clear and sparkled as he spoke and smiled. As we talked, my mind went to this strange place as I thought about his eyes, and I was betting that his eyes looked much like they did when he was a young man. I feel blessed to have met Roy…I hope I get to see him again.

    Comment by missholley — February 23, 2008 @ 18:42


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

