Autism: C'hele's Story

August 17, 2016

Some Things are Just Not Meant To Be.

Filed under: Aspberger Syndrome, Autism, Special Needs, Uncategorized — C'hele @ 14:29

Well. So much for going to University.  I went to two Universities to enquire about getting my degree as a Special Education Teacher.  The unfortunate part is, there is no such thing as a Special Ed. degree by itself.  I must Major in an academic and Minor in something else.  4 years.  Then I have to do an additional 2 years in special education.  That makes 6 years of school.  Not possible for me.  I asked the Academic Advisor “why” is there not a separate program for those who wish to teach Special Ed. only?

WHY must I have to a learn high school academic when I know I wont teach it?  In special education, the focus is always on “Functional Academics and life-skills.” And yet, teachers who have not done their special education training but teach in a Resource Room, have NO IDEA what Functional Academics is???? After stating my opinions, the academic advisor shook his head and said to me “Michelle, I don’t know why they don’t have a course like this- it is definitely needed.  But its all about the money.”

Disgusted, I walked out.  If only people with disabilities and their families who truly comprehend the negativity of this sad fact rise up and advocate for their kids human rights.  If parents really knew what goes on in many of these classes, they would be outraged.  It’s a rare thing to work for and be in a class with a trained teacher in special education.  I for one am tired of working with teachers who in frustration end up in tears due to a lack of knowledge and expect me to pick up the pieces.

Money over quality education.  Money over these students confidence and self-esteem.

It’s disgusting.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

